Program Highlights – Week 13/02/2012 to 19/02/2012

12 Feb

All times are UTC/GMT


Wednesday 15


  • Papal General Audience

Channels Broadcasting Live: EWTN, Telepace, TV2000, TRSP, K-TV, TV TRWAM, KTO

Channels Broadcasting Delayed: EWTN (20:00), Canção Nova International (20:00), KTO (13:00, and again at 22:10)



  • Live from Rome, Italy. Visit of the Pope Benedict XVI to the Roman Major Seminary for the Feast of Our Lady of Trust.

Channels Broadcasting Live: Telepace, KTO



Friday 17


  • Live from Verona, Italy. Coverage of the 482nd Annual Carnival Feast called “Bacanal del Gnoco”, including the parade of the floats.

Channels Broadcasting Live: Telepace



Saturday 18


  • Live from St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City. Ordinary Public Consistory for the creation of new Cardinals and for the vote on several Causes of Canonization. Ceremony led by Pope Benedict XVI. Full list of those elevated to the Cardinalate and their new titular churches, is written below.

Channels Broadcasting Live: Telepace, EWTN, Canção Nova, TV2000, KTO, TV TRWAM, K-TV, Noursat



Sunday 19


  • Live from St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City. Papal Mass on the Solemnity of the Chair of St. Peter, with the newly created cardinals, presided by Pope Benedict XVI.

Channels Broadcasting Live: Telepace, EWTN, Canção Nova, TV2000, KTO, K-TV, TV TRWAM



  • Papal Angelus

Channels Broadcasting Live: Telepace, TV2000, K-TV, TV TRWAM, KTO, EWTN, TRSP

Channels Broadcasting Delayed: Padre Pio TV (11:40), KTO (11:50), Canção Nova (14:30)



Information on how to receive these channels can be found on our Channel Information Page. A list of links where the Channels can be viewed online can be found on our Live TV Links Page.



List of newly created Cardinals:

Archbishop Fernando Filoni, Titular Archbishop of Volturno, Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelisation of the Peoples, as Cardinal-Deacon of Dominæ Nostræ de Coromoto apud S. Ioannem a Deo (Our Lady of Comoroto in St. John of God)

Archbishop Manuel Monteiro de Castro, Titular Archbishop of Beneventum, Major Penitentiary of Apostolic Penitentiary, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Pontiani (St. Pontian)

Archbishop Santos Abril y Castelló, Titular Archbishop of Tamada, Archpriest of the Papal Basilica of St. Mary Major, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Theodori in Palatio (St. Theodore)

Archbishop Antonio Maria Vegliò, Titular Archbishop of Eclano, President of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care for Migrants and Itinerant People, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Cæsarei in Palatio (St. Cesario in Palatio)

Archbishop Giuseppe Bertello, Titular Archbishop of Urbisaglia. President of Pontifical Commission for the Vatican City State, President of Governorate of the Vatican City State, as Cardinal-Deacon of Ss. Viti, Modesti et Crescentiæ (Sts. Vitus, Modestus and Crescentia)

Archbishop Francesco Coccopalmerio, Titular Archbishop of Cœliana, President of Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Iosephus de Lignorum (St. Joseph of the Carpenters)

Archbishop João Bráz de Aviz, Metropolitan Archbishop Emeritus of Brasilia, Prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Helenæ extra Portam Prænestinam (St. Helena outside Prenestina Gate)

Archbishop Edwin Federick O’Brien, Metropolitan Archbishop Emeritus of Baltimore, Pro-Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Sebastiani in Monte Palatino (St. Sebastian at the Palatine)

Archbishop Domenico Calcagno, Archbishop ad personam, Bishop Emeritus of Savona-Noli, President of Administration of the Patrimony of the Holy See, as Cardinal-Deacon of Annuntiationis Beatæ Mariæ Virginsis in Via Ardeatina (Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary on Via Ardeatina)

Archbishop Giuseppe Versaldi, Archbishop ad personam, Bishop Emeritus of Alessandria, President of the Prefecture of for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See, as Cardinal-Deacon of Ss. Cordis Iesu ad Castrum Prætorium (Sacred Heart of Jesus at Castro Pretorio)

Major Archbishop George Alencherry, Major Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly of the Syro-Malabars, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Bernardi ad Thermas (St. Bernard at the Baths)

Archbishop Thomas Christopher Collins, Metropolitan Archbishop of Toronto, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Patricii ad locum vulgo «Villa Ludovisi» (St. Patrick)

Archbishop Dominik Duka, Metropolitan Archbishop of Prague, as Cardinal-Priest of Ss. Marcellini et Petri (Sts. Marcellinus and Peter)

Archbishop Willem Jacobus Eijk, Archbishop of Utrecht, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Calixti (St. Callistus)

Archbishop Giuseppe Betori, Metropolitan Archbishop of Firenze, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Marcelli (St. Marcellus)

Archbishop Timothy Michael Dolan, Metropolitan Archbishop of New York, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Mariæ de Guadalupe in Monte Malo (Our Lady of Guadalupe on Monte Mario)

Archbishop Rainer Maria Woelki, Metropolitan Archbishop of Berlin, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Ioannes Maria Vianney (St. John Vianney)

Bishop John Tong Hon, Bishop of Hong Kong, as Cardinal-Priest of Reginæ Apostolorum (Queen of Apostles)

Major Archbishop Lucian Muresan, Major Archbishop of Fărăgaş şi Alba Iulia of the Romanians, as Cardinal-Priest of S. Athanasii (St. Athanasius)

Archbishop Julien Ries, Titular Archbishop of Bellicastrum, Professor Emeritus of History of Religions at the Catholic University of Louvain, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Antonio da Padova a Via Salaria (St. Anthony of Padua)

Archbishop Prosper Grech, Titular Archbishop of San Leone, Professor Emeritus of various Roman universities, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Maria Goretti (St. Maria Goretti)

Fr. Karl Josef Becker S.J, Professor Emeritus of the Pontifical Gregorian University, as Cardinal-Deacon of S. Julius (St. Julian Martyr).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: